Meri Mygind nee Aratema worked as the Senior Māori Reference Librarian in Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa – National Library of New Zealand. Meri also lectured in Māori Information Management at Te Wānanga o Raukawa in Ōtaki and provided reference and research advice to the Linden and Whakatāne campuses of Te Whare Wānanga o Awanuiārangi, the Tenths Trust, the Te Āti Awa Trust board and to colleagues, friends and whānau around the county and the world. 


This memorial award was presented by Te Rōpū Māori – Māori Staff Association of the National Library of New Zealand – Te Puna Mātauranga o Aotearoa to Te Rōpū Whakahau at Takapuwahia Marae in 2007 in memory of Meri Mygind (Te Āti Awa and Ngāti Awa) and Senior Māori Reference Librarian at the National Library.

  • The award represents Meri’s personal and professional commitment in all areas of Māori librarianship and information management and is awarded to wahine Māori in Te Rōpū Whakahau.
  • The award is a tukutuku patiki titled Pouhine.  It embodies Meri’s commitment in taking care of manuwhiri in libraries and was created by Kohai Grace of Ngāti Toa / Ngāti Raukawa / Te Āti Awa.


  • The award will be presented to a female, Māori member who has shown initiative, creativity, dedication and promotion of Māori services within libraries, archives and information repositories and within Te Rōpū Whakahau.

Any member may be nominated, but all nominees must consent to their inclusion.

  • Nominations for the award must be written and can be submitted at anytime during the year, with the closing date of one week prior to hui-ā-tau. Email nominations to 
  • A nomination for the award must include a written account stating how the nominee has shown initiative, creativity, dedication and promotion Māori services within libraries, archives and repositories within Te Rōpū Whakahau.
  • The successful candidate will be notified by correspondence in the new year and will be asked to attend the Te Rōpū Whakahau Hui-ā-Tau to accept the award in person.
  • Ngā Kaiwhakahau will shortlist applicants for the award and select a recipient.

List of Recipients

2009 – Haneta Pierce
2010 – Raewyn Paewai
2011 – Ann Reweti
2012 – Tangimeriana Rua
2013 – Frances Reiri-Smith
2014 – Anahera Sadler
2015 – Vicki-Anne Heikell
2016 – Te Paea Paringatai
2017 – Ria Wihapi-Waikerepuru
2019 – Kelly Te Kare

2021 – Bella Tarawhiti

2022 – Moana Woods

2023 – Sheeanda McKeagg